Design Committee

The Design Advisory Committee (DAC) was created to systematise consultations with a representative group of stakeholders during the development of the AATF business plan and to provide guidance on key operational issues. It played a critical advisory role, guiding the formation of AATF. It provided guidance on the business plan, selection of board members, selection of the headquarters, and the development of criteria for the selection of pilot projects. The Committee comprised representatives from the following stakeholder groups:

AATF Design Advisory Committee

  • Walter Alhassan
    Accra, Ghana
  • Andrew Mushita
    Community Technology Development Trust
    Harare, Zimbabwe
  • Gerard Barry
    Director of Research –
    Product and Technology Cooperation
    Monsanto Company
    St. Louis, MO, USA
  • Allan Chiyembekeza
    International Crop Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics
    Lilongwe, Malawi
  • Cyrus Ndiritu
    Genetics Technologies Ltd.
    Nairobi, Kenya
  • Sam Dryden
    Managing Director
    Emergent Genetics, Inc
    Boulder, CO, USA
  • Vincent Gwarazimba
    General Manager
    Zimbabwe Seed Trade Association
    Harare, Zimbabwe
  • Christopher Ngichabe
    Association for Strengthening Agricultural Research in Eastern
    and Central Africa
    Nairobi, Kenya
  • Romano Kiome
    Kenya Agricultural Research Institute
    Nairobi, Kenya
  • Josette Lewis
    Biotechnology Advisor
    US Agency for International Development
    Washington, DC, USA
  • William Niebur
    Maize Research Director
    Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.
    Johnston, IA, USA
  • Violet Mandishona
    Chief Education and Training Officer
    Zimbabwe Farmers Union
    Harare, Zimbabwe
  • Kanayo Nwanze
    Director General
    West Africa Rice Development Association
    Bouake, Cote d'Ivoire
  • Barry McCarter
    General Manager
    Westgate, Zimbabwe
  • Eugene Terry
    Implementing Director
    African Agricultural Technology Foundation (AATF)
    Washington, DC, USA
  • Gavin McGillivray
    Senior Financial Advisor
    Department for International Development
    London, UK
  • Barry Thomas
    Corporate, Public, and Government Affairs
    Aventis CropScience, UK Ltd.
    Cambridge, UK
  • Ronald Meeusen
    Vice President for Research, Plant Genetics and Biotechnology
    Dow Agro Sciences LLC
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
  • Kinyua M'Mbijjewe
    Government and Public Affairs
    Lead-Africa, Monsanto Africa
    Bryanston, South Africa
  • Carl-Gustaf Thornstrom
    Senior Research Adviser
    Agriculture Swedish Biodiversity
    Centre, University of Agricultural Sciences
    Uppsala, Sweden
  • Joseph Mukiibi
    Director General
    National Agricultural Research Organization
    Entebbe, Uganda
  • Godber Tumushabe
    Executive Director
    Advocates Coalition for Development and Environment
    Kampala, Uganda
  • Florence Wambugu
    Executive Director
    A Harvest Biotech Foundation International
    Nairobi, Kenya
  • Klaus Winkel
    Danish International Development Assistance
    Ministry of Foreign Affairs
    Copenhagen, Denmark

Copyright © 2017 | All Rights Reserved, African Agricultural Technology Foundation (AATF-Africa)